SEEMO is deeply shocked by the killing of journalist Giorgos Karaivaz in Athens, Greece, on 9 April 2021

SEEMO is deeply shocked by the killing of journalists and media workers since March 2022 in the Russian invasion of Ukraine:

1. Pierre Zakrzewski, Cameraman
2. Oleksandra Kurshynova, Journalist
3. Oxana Wiktorowna Baulina, Journalist
4. Evgeny (Yevhenii) Sakun, Cameraman
5. Brent Renaud, Filmmaker
6. Viktor Dudar, Military journalist (was not working as a journalist at the time - solder)
7. Dilerbek Shakirov Shukurovich, Journalist
8. Maks Levin, Documentary photographer
9 Viktor Dedov (while not engaged in news gathering during bombing)
10. Mantas Kvedaravičius, Lithuanian filmmaker
11. Vera Gyrych / Vira Hyrych, journalist and producer, Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty, died after a Russian missile hit the building where she lived in Kyiv
12. Frédéric Leclerc-Imhoff, BFM TV, France
13. Bogdan / Bohdan Bitik, fixer, Ukraine
14. Arman Soldin, Agence France-Presse (AFP)
15. Victoria Amelina, journalist and writer (Ballistic missile strikes against civilian buildings in Kramatorsk)
16. Rostislav Zhuravlev, Russian state media journalist - war correspondent
17. Boris Maksudov, Russian state media military journalist
18. Yury Oleynik, camera operator, death in battle - not as journalist, fighting in Luhansk
19. Oleksandr Makhov, journalist, died as serviceman in Ukrainian Armee
20. Sergey Postnov, died not as journalist - but military active for Russia
21. Oleksandr Bondarenko, journalist, media trainer, died when he volunteered in the Territorial Defense Forces
22. Volodymyr Myroniuk, photoreporter, joined the military.
23. Yevhenii Bal, journalist and writter, died of his wounds after Russian soldiers tortured him
24. Zoreslav Zamoysky, freelancer, found dead in a street in Bucha
25. Roman Nezhyborets, video operator, found killed in Yahidne

SEEMO: Joint Statements

In this section you can find SEEMO co-signed joint statements. Together we can change the world. Cooperation between organisations is important and is particularly relevant to addressing important press freedom violations.

June 2023: Murder of journalist Milan Pantić, 20 years later

milan-pantic foto 1

Milan Pantić

SEEMO Missions, Visits, Events and Meetings