CEI SEEMO Award for Outstanding Merits in Investigative Journalism


The CEI SEEMO Award for Outstanding Merits in Investigative Journalism is meant to promote high-quality investigative journalism and acknowledge the efforts of investigative journalists often working under difficult conditions in the context of threats to media freedom and personal safety.

FOCUS 2024

This year’s Award seeks to highlight the role of investigative journalism in raising public awareness of critical issues in the agriculture/food security, environment, and health sectors, with the aim of advocating for transparency and good governance as regards practices, procedures, funding.


The Call is open to nationals of CEI Member States: Albania, Belarus¹ , Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Hungary, Italy, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine.

The Award is divided into two categories:

2. YOUNG PROFESSIONAL JOURNALISTS (born on/after 1994) 1,000 EUR

Category 1: candidates who have been actively involved in investigative reporting over the last three years and are still active in journalism. Two samples of journalistic work will be relevant for the evaluation from the jury.

Category 2: candidates who have been actively involved in investigative reporting, even in the context of training activities organised by schools/ universities/ NGOs and, as a result, should have published at least one investigative story meeting all professional standards. One sample of journalistic work will be relevant for the evaluation from the jury.

Print, Radio, TV, news agencies and Internet media are admitted.



Candidates shall fill in the Online Application Form available here: https://www.cei.int/contact/application_cei_seemo

The following documents in PDF format shall be uploaded:
1. Curriculum vitae (in English).
2. Recommendation letter (in English) written and signed by trustworthy individuals, journalism and media organisations, media companies, civil society organisations, journalism schools or universities, trade unions or other social organisations from the target countries.
3. Up to three samples of journalistic work in a single PDF document (minimum two samples in Category 1, one sample in Category 2). For online work samples, insert hyperlinks in a PDF document, or print out online articles in a PDF file. Hyperlinks need to be accessible by 15 December 2024. In the case of audio/video material, please upload the files making use of file-sharing services (e.g. WeTransfer or Dropbox) including a script or scenario. Material prepared in local languages should be accompanied by a short summary in English.

Applications that do not include all requested documentation will not be considered.


Applications shall be submitted by 31 July 2024 (23:59 CEST).


Applications will be examined by an international jury composed of distinguished journalists and media experts from the region, which may also include winners of previous editions of the Award. The awarding ceremony will take place during the South East Europe Media Forum (SEEMF) to be held in Podgorica, Montenegro, on 27 November 2024.

The jury will take into account the relevance of the matters covered by the reports, which should have a focus on the target countries as well as the quality of reporting in terms of documentation, data, writing and production. The personal risks taken while performing the duties as well as the impact on society of the messages conveyed will also be evaluated.


www.cei.int // fabro@cei.int
www.seemo.org // info@seemo.org