Serbian Photographer Wins SEEMO Human Rights Photo Award

May 15, 2020 SEEMO Human Rights Photo Award 2012 disabled comments

The South East Europe Media Organisation (SEEMO) announced that Serbian journalist Igor Pavicevic won the 2012 SEEMO Human Rights Photo Award. The winning photograph, “Ručak na barikadi”, (Lunch at the Barricades), shot on Sep. 18, 2011, in Jarinje, Kosovo, was selected by the SEEMO jury, headed by Radomir Licina (Danas daily, Belgrade, Serbia).

Pavicevic works as a photojournalist for the Belgrade-based Press daily. He has previously worked for different publications, including Balkan and Internacional. Pavicevic was handed the award on May 17, 2012, during a ceremony and exhibition organized by the Beta news agency. The SEEMO Human Rights Award is part of the Beta Photo Award Competition. BETA has been organising this photo competition since 2004 and SEEMO has participated for the past five years with its special award.

The winners of the 2012 Beta Photo Award are: Sanja Knezevic, Amnesty International, Serbia; Vadim Ghirda, AP, Romania; and Milos Cvetkovic, Blic, Serbia. A special award for best sports photograph, sponsored by Telekom, went to Bulgarian photographer Kostadin Andonov.

The winning SEEMO Human Rights Photo Award photograph, as well as the runners-up, will be printed in SEEMO publications and published on the SEEMO website: The runners-up are: “The Balkans”, Petar Markovic, Blic, Serbia; “Greek Unrest 2”, Milos Bicanski, Getty Images, Greece; “Boy poverty”, Tomislav Georgiev, Magazin Fokus, Macedonia; “The Flower of Youth”, Dado Ruvic, Reuters, Bosnia and Herzegovina; “I Am a Man, Too”, Nebojsa Markovic, Blic, Serbia; “Illegal Immigrants”, Boris Kovacev, Cropix, Croatia; “Don Quixote”, Andjelko Vasiljevic, Politika, Serbia; “Mother and Child”, Mirza Subasic, Nasa Rijec, Bosnia and Herzegovina; “Kolo Dance”, Dragan Karadarevic, Vecernje Novosti, Serbia; “Feeding people”, Stipe Surac, freelance photographer, Croatia; “Future Parade Commander”, Dusan Mitic, Tanjug, Serbia ; “Waiting for Coffee”, Zvonimir Barisin, Cropix, Croatia; “Feminine Race”, Emil Vas, Beta, Serbia; “Frost”, Vadim Ghirda, AP, Romania; “Civilization”, Marina Kelava,, Croatia; and “Carpathia”, Stipe Surac, freelance photographer, Croatia.

The winners of the previous SEEMO competitions are: 2008 – Maja Zlatevska, Dnevnik, Skopje (Marko Djurica, Blic/Reuters, received a Certificate of Distinction); 2009 – Nebojsa Radosavljevic-Raus, freelance photographer, Belgrade, Serbia; 2010 – Mahir Vranac, freelance photographer, Bosnia and Herzegovina; and 2011 – Janko Petkovic, Beta, Serbia.