February 15, 2024

15.02.2024 – Journalist Korab F. Rexhepi Threatened

On 12 February 2024, Korab F. Rexhepi (https://www.facebook.com/korab.f.rexhepi), a journalist affiliated with DTV Television (https://dtvmedia.net/), who has his show “Llaf pas Darke” (Chat after Dinner), recently found himself targeted by a series of alarming threats originating from an individual using the initials M.B.

The unsettling episode unfolded after Rexhepi ended during his TV show a direct phone call with M.B, prompted by the latter’s use of inappropriate language during live broadcast.

Subsequently, Rexhepi revealed to the Association of Journalists of Kosovo (Asociacioni i Gazetarëve të Kosovës – AGK – https://agk-ks.org/en/) the disturbing content of the threatening messages he received. The messages he received in written form over his mobile phone. One such message ominously warned of dire consequences, stating that Rexhepi and his entire family would ‘disappear.’

The South East Europe Media Organisation (SEEMO) condemns the threats made against journalist Korab Rexhepi, which represent a serious violation of press freedom and journalist safety. Threats of violence aimed at silencing journalists have no place in a democratic society and must be addressed with urgency by the relevant authorities. SEEMO calls on the authorities in Kosovo to thoroughly investigate this case and ensure that those responsible are held accountable for their actions. Journalists must be able to carry out their work without fear of intimidation or reprisal, and SEEMO stands in solidarity with Korab Rexhepi and all journalists facing similar threats or attacks.

South East Europe Media Organisation (SEEMO) is a regional non-governmental, non profit network of editors, media executives and leading journalists in Southeast, South, East and Central Europe. SEEMO members are in Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Moldova (with the territory of Transdnestria), Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Türkiye / Turkey, Ukraine and Uzbekistan. Austria, Italy, Vatican and San Marino have a special status in SEEMO. SEEMO has over 3000 individual members, and additional media as corporate members.

#fyp #mediafreedom #seemo #freespeech #southeasteuropemediaorganisation #ngo #journalist #journalistunderattack #kosovo #KorabRexhepi #DTV #journalistattacked #SEEMO #pressfreedom #mediafreedom #freemedia