Conference Public Broadcasting in Bosnia and Herzegovina in cooperation with SEEMO, Sarajevo, 13-14 June, 2017, Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

June 13, 2017 Others 2017 disabled comments

Tuesday 13 June 2017

The Bosnia and Herzegovina public service broadcaster (BHRT), the Bosnia and Herzegovina Journalist association, the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), the European Federation of Journalists (EFJ), and the South East Europe Media Organisation (SEEMO)call on Bosnia and Herzegovina authorities to undertake urgent measures to save national public service media (PSM) in BiH.

The above mentioned organisations urge BiH authorities to ensure political consensus about the importance of existing independent and professional national PSM in BiH, to find sustainable solutions for the funding of PSM, to undertake immediate amendments of the existing legislation and support the national public broadcaster as a factor for promoting and reinforcing democracy, European standards, ethnic tolerance and social cohesion.

The signatories of this statement in cooperation with the Council of Europe and the OSCE Representative of Freedom of the Media, are organizing a conference on “National Public Service Broadcasting in Bosnia and Herzegovina” on 13 June in Sarajevo. The event will summon representatives of media, parliament, government, BiH authorities, representatives of international organizations, institutions and embassies, and experts to discuss possible solutions for the crisis and ensure proper implementation of Council of Europe and European Union’s standards. The participants will discuss the existing challenges and limits, share experiences and best practices of national and ethnic PSM in Europe and assess the need for legal changes, systemic changes and the request for the Croatian channel.

Key speakers will be Nils Muižnieks, CoE Commissioner for Human Rights and Ingrid Deltenre, EBU Director General.

BHRT will host the conference in one of its studios.